My Photo

Words to Consider

  • I bind myself today to the Holy Powers: Their hands to guide me, Their wisdom to teach me, Their ears to hear me, Their words to give me speech, my heart always to love Them. —Galina Krasskova
  • "Not to hurt our humble brethren in fur, feather or fin, is our first duty to them, but to stop there is not enough. We have a higher mission: to be of service to them whenever they require it.” ~Francis of Assisi
  • Tikkun Olam (roughly translated, I understand, as Heal the World)
    “It is not incumbent upon you to complete the work, but neither are you at liberty to desist from it.” –Rabbi Tarfon.
  • "And the Bastard grant us, in our direst need, the smallest gifts: the nail of the horseshoe, the pin of the axle, the feather at the pivot point, the pebble at the mountain's peak, the kiss in despair, the one right word. In darkness, understanding." -- Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold
  • "There's a time when the operation of the machine becomes so odious-makes you so sick at heart-that you can't take part. You can't even passively take part. And you've got to put your bodies upon the gears and upon the wheels, upon the levers, upon all the apparatus, and you've got to make it stop. And you've got to indicate to the people who run it, to the people who own it, that unless you're free, the machine will be prevented from working at all!" - Mario Savio
  • "They tell us that we live in a great free republic; that our institutions are democratic; that we are a free and self-governing people. That is too much, even for a joke. ... Wars throughout history have been waged for conquest and plunder... And that is war in a nutshell. The master class has always declared the wars; the subject class has always fought the battles." —Eugene Victor Debs
  • i do it for the joy it brings / because i am a joyful girl / because the world owes me nothing / and we owe each other the world / i do it because it's the least i can do / i do it because i learned it from you / i do it just because i want to / because I want to —"Joyful Girl", Ani DiFranco
  • "Nothing living should ever be treated with contempt. Whatever it is that lives, a man, a tree, or a bird, should be touched gently, because the time is short. Civilization is another word for respect for life." - Elizabeth Goudge, author of The Joy of the Snow

Sigrdrifa's Prayer

  • Hail to the Day / Hail to Day’s Sons / Hail to the Night and her Daughters / With loving eyes look upon us here / And bring victory to those who have gathered / Hail to the gods / Hail to the goddesses / Hail to the mighty, fecund Earth / Eloquence and native wit bestow on us / And healing hands while we live

Other Places, Other Things . . .

Art Dolls

  • Flower Goddess
    My imaginary friends.

Artist Trading Cards

  • Goddess front
    A sampling of my ATCs. Some available for trade, as noted.

Beadwork

  • Where two rivers join waits Death, crowned with roses
    Mostly pins, with some other oddments.

Journal Quilts

  • Bubba's Quilt
    8.5" x 11", approximately, quilts to explore various ideas.

Complete Archives

Blog powered by Typepad
Member since 11/2005

« Widget, R.I.P. | Main | Pixie, Remembered »

Friday, 24 September 2010

Comments

Kai

He's a darling lil' cat & I KNOW he'll have joy as long as he lives!

Myra

I am so sorry for your loss. I hope you will take some comfort in knowing he wouldn't have had these few days in the lap of luxury if it hadn't been for you. (Hugs)

Beth Gott

I am so sorry. We've buried 2 beloved dogs in the last 6 months and my oldest kitty is now 15, still doing well, but it makes you feel like you're waiting for the next shoe to drop. I know you're finding comfort in all the others in your household.

towanda

oh anita. so very sorry. hugs from colorado.

Anya

My deepest sympathies - I do know how it feels, and this year my Chesney disappeared - vanished without a trace in a quite neighborhood. Your poor tortie - you know that a male tortie is extremely rare - I wonder if that had something to do with it? Once again - deepest sympathies to you. -Anna

The comments to this entry are closed.

December 2023

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
          1 2
3 4 5 6 7 8 9
10 11 12 13 14 15 16
17 18 19 20 21 22 23
24 25 26 27 28 29 30
31